Buy local – Your body and your farmer will thank you

Hello friends! Today’s the day of my guest post, which I’m really excited about. I wrote it for Katie at Making This Home, a blog about living a green life, both in the United States and Germany. When Katie approached me to write a blog about eating local and organic food, I jumped all over it. Why? Because I live in Montana, where many people assume it’s impossible to grow local and organic food in such a short growing season. Lies! I tell you! Lies! But my theory behind the post was that if I can find local, organic and sustainably grown food in Montana, everybody else in America can too.

Here’s an excerpt from the post:

I don’t remember the last time I bought bananas. And I miss bananas. But not enough to buy them. What’s the deal? You may ask. Where in the world are you banana-less? For the record, the grocery stores where I live in southwestern Montana carry bananas. And they carry those bananas in various stages of decay. Some are shockingly green. Others sit on a discount rack where they brown into oblivion. But still I won’t buy them. Why? Because they’re from Ecuador.

I have nothing against Ecuador. I hear it’s a nice place to visit. But I am vehemently opposed to shipping bananas nearly 4,000 miles. And I made the decision a few years ago to vote with my feet.

And how am I voting?

To read the rest of the post (with pictures!) please visit Katie’s blog here.

Leave a Reply

