Profits before environment (which translates as: profits before YOUR well-being)

OK, I normally try to keep my politics off this blog because I understand that a.) not everyone agrees with my politics (even if I think they should 😉 ) and b.) politics can be quite polarizing and consequently tiresome. However, this is an opinion piece I just had to share.

READ ME.

In the article, author Mark Bittman points out that the government (truly, my loss of faith in the government is something I am becoming overwhelmed by… soon I’ll be one of those crazy folks out in the woods with my sheep, chickens and guns) and its bedmates (oil industry, the EVIL EVIL EVIL corporation Monsanto) are going against what the MAJORITY of Americans want and appear to be proceeding with the Keystone XL pipeline, and paving the way for more and more genetically engineered crops.

What struck me most about this article was these few lines: “If Keystone is built, we’ll see rising greenhouse gas emissions right away (tar sands production creates three times as many greenhouse gases as does conventional oil)” and “…there will be a march from New York City to Washington to demand that genetically modified foods be labeled, something a majority of Americans want. This small, perfectly reasonable request has run into joint opposition from the biotech industry and (here we go again) the Food and Drug Administration.”

Folks, this is only mounting evidence that our government (and I don’t think  your political persuasion matters when I make this statement) doesn’t care about you, me or anybody but corporations, corporate profits and that very miniscule class of Americans known as “the top 1 percent.”

We’ve got to get out there and do something about this folks. We can’t leave the peaceful protests to the Egyptians and Syrians any longer. We need to organize and take the streets. There has got to be some way to get it through the incredibly, unbelievably, thick skulls of our political “representation” that the pipeline and genetically modified food is bad for us, bad for the environment and bad for America. Help!

Leave a Reply

