Seeing him for the first time

Hello friends! I finally have something worth posting about. And that thing is our big news: It’s a boy!

Shawn and I had our 20-week ultrasound (though as of tomorrow I’m 22 weeks along) this week. In addition to checking the baby’s organs, spine and fingers and toes for normal development (everything is normal, thank the Lord!), we also opted to find out what we’re having, since finding out I was pregnant was surprise enough!

The doctor was about five seconds into the ultrasound when we’re had our indisputable answer: We’re having a son.

I have to admit Shawn and I were not at all surprised! There’s only three girls in his generation and about quadruple the number of boys! We would have been happy either way, however. We are relieved to know everything is developing well. Ultrasound technology is so cool, too: Shawn and I watched our baby’s heart beat and his little hands clench into fists and wave about.

Finding out the gender of our baby has really helped me mentally to understand this pregnancy more and accept it as actually happening (I think other moms can attest to the surreal feeling of the first four months or so). My body is definitely changing, too! The baby bump is here in full force. And I can feel our little boy kicking, which is beyond exciting. And does he kick! I think I’ve got a little soccer player inside me. Feeling the taps against my belly gives me pause, taking a few moments here and there to appreciate this little being inside taking shape.

The doctor said he is currently positioned with his head up by my ribs, which I can attest to because I feel the kicking at the bottom of my stomach. Hopefully our little boy flips around in the next 10 weeks or so or I may have a C-section in my future. Boo.

I wonder what he’s going to look like. I hope he takes after his handsome father! In the meantime, I’m going to get back to whispering to myself with glee: “I have a son.”

Leave a Reply

