And now for a nice, long break

It’s finals week this week. Poor husband, he has six finals. Lucky me, I only have one. Here’s a photo from the coffee shop today. Shawn’s studying chemistry while I work on my “finals week project.”

And here’s a close-up of my project:

This is one of those projects I’ve been working on for a while. It got put on the back burner for the past month with school (alas, my autumn-themed project has spilled over into winter). But that it’s winter break, I can resume working on it! I’m planning to make it into a pillow. I post pictures of it when I finish. Speaking of projects, I finished the little birds for the mobile for Baby C’s room, so now all we have to do is glue them to the sticks and hang the mobile. I’ll also post a picture of that soon. I’ve got scads of other projects planned for winter break, though. I want to make a stuffed puppy for the little boy, do some monogramming, make some Christmas presents, etc. Shawn and I moved my sewing desk into our room (wouldn’t fit in kiddo’s room), so I have a nice little workspace I’m putting together. I’m planning to string up an idea line, so once I get that put together I can post some photos. It’s nice to have a little workspace, even if it’s just the island of a desk where my sewing machine resides.

Other Christmas break plans include making a ton of food to freeze to we don’t have to cook for a few weeks after the baby is born, applying for scholarships, writing, and enjoying the last month of “just the two of us” with my husband. I’m also trying to make the apartment a little more festive for Christmas because we’re not getting a tree… just too much hassle this year (And where would we put it? Our apartment is tiny). I already made one Christmas ornament and have plans for others. Never underestimate the power of Christmas music, festive candles and well-placed decorations.

One thought on “And now for a nice, long break

Leave a Reply

