Broomstick lace cowl

Remember when I posted a little while back  (where you can find a link to the pattern if you’re interested in making one of your own) about learning to crochet broomstick lace? Well, I finished the cowl I started for a friend. Didn’t it turn out nicely?

I raided my button stash for the buttons, so they don’t match exactly but I think it’s better that they don’t. And I think this cowl might have really turned me on to them. They don’t slip around like scarves do! And when you live somewhere as cold in the winter as I do, it’s nice not to worry about exposed neck skin (Random tangent: I wear scarves religiously in the winter and when spring rolls around and I have to abandon scarves for the season, my neck is always chilly for a few days!).

P.S. For anyone considering making something of broomstick lace, just be aware it takes longer than traditional crochet!

4 thoughts on “Broomstick lace cowl

  1. I’m a huge fan of scarves too, and even taken to wearing lighter ones around the spring/early summer, but this cowl is absolutely beautiful. Might have to try to make it.

  2. Pingback: 10 November 2012: post to Mom « Gratitude every day

Leave a Reply

